ę Apprentice advice | Main | Grownup Ľ

Tuesday, April 20, 2004

Search engine voice mail

Following is a transcript of a message that was left on my office voice mail last night at 8:57 p.m. It's difficult to tell if the message was left by a recording or a live person. In either event, the legitimacy of this approach to selling search engine placement is somewhat suspect considering the fact that my office doesn't have a web site.

Hi. This Kelley Scott. Iím calling because I have the top spot on Yahoo available.

We really like your web site. And weíd like to place you right at the top of Yahoo and affiliated search engines. And, again, weíll be placing you at the top spot on Yahoo and thereís no charge for that and thereís no contract or obligation. But I do need to fill the spot right away, so please call me tomorrow.

My number is 949-330-7070. Again, thatís 949-330-7070.

And, you know if Iím on the phone itíll ring through to one of my associates, so just go ahead and leave a message and one of us will get right back to you.

Thank you. Bye.

Posted by Marie at April 20, 2004 3:56 PM


Phone spam! Isn't that illegal after the Do Not Call Registry? You have to have a prior business relationship or something for it to be legal. I would report it and get the thing shut down and fined.

Posted by: Doc at April 20, 2004 5:04 PM

We got the exact same pitch at our office. I made them call me a couple of times and then told them no.

Posted by: Michael at April 20, 2004 6:21 PM

Good thought, Doc, but as it reads now, I don't think a case can be made for applying the registry to business phones:

The National Do Not Call Registry gives you a choice about whether to receive telemarketing calls at home.

I'd like to see that changed from "at home" to "any phone." Some weeks I get 30 to 40 (maybe more) solicitations at work. Even making sure it's not a legitimate call and just hanging up is time consuming. What's worse is when they leave these voice mail messages because there's no way to cut them off.

Posted by: Marie at April 20, 2004 9:57 PM

but... but... don't you want the top spot on Yahoo and her affiliates? Oh my GOD. ;)

Seriously, I'd be concerned. It looks like people are going into registrar sites and looking up contact info... though that looks like it'd be a real pain... I know a lot of .com entries that have bogus/missing phone numbers. Hmmmm...

Posted by: ben at April 24, 2004 5:34 PM

I got the same sales pitch left on our answering machine at 9:30PM EST last night asking us to call back (949) 330-7070.

However the caller ID said 416-214-9598. It appears they are a Telemarketing company from Canada. (See thread here: http://www.antitelemarketer.com/nuke/html/modules.php?name=Żúé“ms&file=viewtopic&t=567&highlight= )

Posted by: Rob at May 18, 2004 9:25 AM

yea, this happend to me tonight, and i thnik it happened around 8 - 9pm, maybe it was the same time as 8:58, what does this mean?

is it real, like is my website good and wanted on yahoos top search?

Posted by: eric at May 23, 2004 8:29 PM

If it was legit you would think they would use email

Posted by: ED Hewett at May 26, 2004 10:34 AM

Got a hang-up from this 416-214-9598 at 9:26 this morning. Dialed it back and got an automated message :(paraphrased) "We respect your wishes to be removed from our call list."

As this is not an 800 number and my privacy block for Caller ID was on, I don't see how they can remove my number from the list...unless the block does not go thru to a Canadian number? Just a BS message? We'll see. This is getting tiresome, especially the hang-ups and pre-recorded messages.

It has gotten to the point now, that when I do manage to get a live person either immediately or by calling back, I am either very rude or I very calmly and quietly tell them "If you don't stop calling me, I am going to hunt you down and make you stop."

LOL, the calm statement seems to work much better. It is ambiguous enough that it could mean anything from legal action to the idea that they just might have ticked-off a psycho homicidal maniac.

If I am feeling particularly annoyed, I get their name first, and I tell the person that I will hold him/her *personally* responsible.

Posted by: Heywood at May 27, 2004 10:35 AM

I just received a call from this number at my resident. They hung up

Posted by: Carolyn at May 28, 2004 1:46 PM

Yes, I recieved this at our office as well, only the intro was missing. All I got was " ..calling, and my number is 949-330-7070. Again, thatís 949-330-7070. And, you know if Iím on the phone itíll ring through to one of my associates, so just go ahead and leave a message and one of us will get right back to you.Thank you. Buh-bye."
Since I wanted to know the company name, I Googled the phone number which led me here.
Thank-you for posting this!

Posted by: Betty at June 8, 2004 9:51 AM

We have 4 different lines coming into our business, and in the past week alone, we have recieved numerous calls with the exact same messages 'read' via the phone, and I have made it more than clear that 1st of all, I am recording the phone call, and secondly, if I recieve another phone call from their company I will have them in court. Then I proceed to have them tell me thier company name, thier name, and that they understand what I am saying, to NEVER call this number again, or we will be talking next in court.

I am glad to hear that others check into the phone numbers that people leave on thier voice mail.

Good Luck to you all!

Signed - telemarketing fraud hater

Posted by: Jennifer at June 14, 2004 8:32 AM

I tried to remove mt phone number on the do not call list, and it would not take it. Why is that?

Posted by: Lynn at June 28, 2004 10:20 AM

I just happen to work out of my home and I get endless calls from telemarketers who think I'm a "real" business w/lots of employees, which is not the case. I call this message last nite around 9 and it sounded like a real person until it cut off mid-sentence.

I hate this things!!!!!! I not only get spam calls, I get spam faxes at 3 in the morning!!!!!!

Funny thing about this call - I don't even have a website! lol

Posted by: Vickie at October 27, 2004 7:24 AM