Ice | Main | Name those clouds

Wednesday, September 27, 2006

Public opinion phone poll

I just received an automated phone call from "Out of Area." It went like this (paraphrasing):

This is a public opinion poll on a recently enacted law. There are three questions.

  1. Would you support a plan to allow smoking in bars and fraternal clubs such as the VWF and American Legion?
  2. Do you believe sales in local bars will be reduced by the smoking ban?
  3. Are you a smoker?

Every question was press 1 for yes, and 2 for no. I think. I hope I got the answers right.

Posted by Marie at September 27, 2006 5:59 PM

Comments

They should have asked the last question first. obviously they were looking for people to support there position.

Posted by: t-rexx at September 27, 2006 6:11 PM

Yes, No, and No, in that order. I'm not anti-smoker (though I am a reformed smoker), I think a smoking ban would not hurt sales -- it'd bring in a different clientele. But clubs? If they wanna let their patrons smoke, more power to em.

My two cents... :)

Posted by: ben at September 27, 2006 9:47 PM

VWF?

Posted by: The 26th Man at September 27, 2006 11:14 PM

Oh yeah. You don't go there? (Good catch.)

Posted by: Marie at September 27, 2006 11:30 PM

they should have left it up to the business owners. i rely on tips as a cocktail waitress. and friday night one of the most busy nights we have at my downtown bar, i only made a little less than 20% of my normal amount. tell me other people see something wrong with that. its not like i can get another job somewhere else doing the same thing, 19 dollars a night is not enough. what were these people thinking?

Posted by: allie at September 28, 2006 12:52 AM

The US Surgeon General recently issued a report concluding that there is no safe level of second-hand smoke. All levels are carcinogenic. It's only a matter of time before an employee sues for unsafe workplace reasons. As for the smokers... well they go to movies and ride in airplanes, two places where smoking isn't allowed. I don't see why they can't sit in restaurants and bars for extended periods without smoking.
K-

Posted by: Kem White at September 28, 2006 8:20 AM

I went to Olive Garden the other day and it was really nice not having to say "Non-smoking, please"

Allie--It may take time but people will come around. Angeloes in Taylorville volunteered to go smoke free and they are as busy as ever.

Remember money is not as important as your health.

Posted by: Randy at September 28, 2006 10:18 AM

Shorter poll: You mean, mean people took the right to smoke away from our bvrave, brave veterans who fought and died for the right to smoke!

Posted by: Dave at September 28, 2006 11:31 AM

OMIGOD ... I got the same phone call the other night ... and I hung up without answering. The minute I heard, "This is a public opinion poll ..." the receiver was down. Not that I don't ever answer surveys ... I was just in the middle of something. At least now I know what I was missing.

Posted by: ThirtyWhat at September 28, 2006 11:33 AM

1. Yes
2. No
3. No
I will be celebrating my 9th year of being a nonsmoker October 1. The two things I love about Florida. One - all bars, restaurants, bowling alleys have been smoke free the last two years and two - drinks are two for one all day in most establisments (not your high end restaurants). Private clubs such as VFW, Moose, etc have a variance and allow smoking in Florida.

Posted by: Carol at September 28, 2006 7:26 PM

Florida sounds like it has it about right. In truly private settings, let people do as they please; in public or quasi-public ones, people have no more absolute right to smoke than they do to do anything else. But sometimes you wonder if things are going too far: Out here (Berkeley, which is also known as "out there", it's illegal to smoke within 20 feet of a bus stop (try defining the boundaries of a bus stop); there are actually notices stenciled on sidewalks in Berkeley advising smokers they're in a do-not-light-up zone.

Posted by: Dan at September 28, 2006 7:50 PM

No
Yes
No

I'm smoke-free for 21 years now. The crusaders for both sides annoy me. What Kem said is right. If they can get on a plane for the duration without lighting, they can surely survive a meal or a few rounds at the local bar. On the other hand, I unknowingly cut in front of someone at the grocery store one day because he was standing about 15 feet behind the smoking person in front of him. Too bad.

Posted by: Rob at September 28, 2006 9:28 PM

health is important but without that money i cant pay my bills, i am hungry, and if i get sick i cant afford the doctor. catch 22. hopefully they do come around, but as for now, its really damaging many peoples income.

Posted by: allie at September 29, 2006 8:55 AM

Sorry Allie, I meant no offense.

But I can't understand why a smoking ban would make that much difference. I mean people still have to eat. Are people purposely not going out because of the smoking ban to make a stand or for spite because they do not agree with the law? If that is the case then I don't see it lasting very long. Eating out is so much fun.

Posted by: Randy at September 29, 2006 12:26 PM