Fallstaffland | Main | What is it?

Thursday, March 01, 2007

On deleting Blogger blogspot blogs

I was really dismayed this morning to find that two popular Springfield blogs had been deleted by their owners. I am sorry to see them quit, but I'm not delving into the reasons these two quit blogging. That's their right and privilege. Both of the blogs were hosted on blogspot.com:

  • http://ohpea.blogspot.com/
  • http://rockymoviemarathonfoundation.blogspot.com/

The alternative to deleting would be to cease posting and let the blogs remain on line as is. I don't know if there's a way with blogspot.com to make the blogs not viewable by the public. But, it seems there should be.

Anyway, we now see that when a blogspot blog is deleted, instead of preserving the URL immemorial, as should be the case, Google, who owns Blogger.com and Blogspot.com, allows the URL to somehow be re-registered and re-used by anyone (or anything?) who grabs it.

In the case of the two I mentioned here, the URLs now redirect to a page of ads. In at least one case, this happened in just a few short hours from the time it was deleted. To say the least, ugh. In my opinion, and putting it mildly, this is much less desirable than a real person writing and blogging. Not good, Google. Not good at all.

EDIT: I forgot to add, if anyone has these two linked anywhere, best to remove the links so as to not give unwarranted or undeserved Google juice to whoever.

Posted by Marie at March 1, 2007 11:34 PM


The same thing happens, albeit in a slightly slower fashion, when a real domain expires. And usually if you can't find a spammer to buy it quick (I guess it's pagerank sensitive) then Verisign will just put their own stuff up.

Posted by: Ben at March 2, 2007 12:24 AM

Good point, Ben. I liken this along the lines of deleting your Yahoo e-mail account or your AIM screen name. As far as I know, those two companies don't let those accounts get re-used.

Posted by: Marie at March 2, 2007 12:33 AM

Hi Marie,

On the 'new Blogger' there is the ability to pull a blog in to private or invite-only status. On those blogs, you'll get a message when you reach the page that says it's invite only.

I don't really understand the logic behind pulling a blog down completely unless there's been some threat of harm or other danger to the blogger. There are enough ways to limit comments and spam on blogs that it shouldn't be such a problem.

On the other hand, I've also seen reports from other Blogger users that there are problems with viewing 'front door' URLs.

Personally, I recommend getting the heck out of Blogger and onto a wordpress platform anyway. Blogger is frustrating. :)

Posted by: Karoli at March 2, 2007 2:31 AM

Wordpress rules!

Posted by: shoo Author Profile Page at March 2, 2007 10:36 AM

I can see reasons for wanting everything deleted. People have been known to be fired for what they've written on their blogs. Two women were pretty much forced to resign their positions from the Edwards Presidential Campaign recently for things they left up on their blogs. Not sure that either of the two you mention wanted to delete their entries or feared retribution, though. Also possible the bloggers aren't gone permanently. They may want their own MT or WP installation at some time and will import all of their old entries then.

Posted by: Rob Author Profile Page at March 2, 2007 2:51 PM

Karoli, one of the bloggers I mentioned does have his own domain name where he's running a baseball blog on Word Press. Unfortunately, he has stopped posting there.

Shoo, I'm partial to Movable Type. But, mostly because I have so much knowledge and emotion invested in it.

Rob, I had no heard that about the Edwards Campaign. Too bad. For the last five years I've indicated on my resume that I blog.

Posted by: Marie at March 3, 2007 1:03 AM

Nothing gets deleted for real.

O.K., so they become more difficult to access, but there's half a dozen archive sites which make even deleted blog post accessible.

There are problems with the archives, cached copies often don't include updated info posted to the original, often don't include photos, and often don't include comments.

However, if you post something, and it sits out on the net long enough for a webspider, or webbot to check out your deleted post are usually archived, and can be read - and probably will long after all of us are long gone.


Posted by: JeromeProphet at March 6, 2007 2:32 PM